Introduction
This subject guide provides access to the Library's key resources relevant to the field of Geomatics and Surveying. Explore the different resources and contact your librarian if you need any assistance. 
All Items by Source

Discovery Platforms

ACM Digital Library Some full text available

The ACM Digital Library is a research, discovery and networking platform containing the Full-Text Collection of all ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books.


Dimensions Restricted Resource Some full text available
Linked research data from idea to impact. Dimensions data and solutions for discovery and analytics
note: Contact the Library for off-campus login details
eLibraryUSA Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
eLibraryUSA is a digital collection of trusted information resources from the United States with quality newspapers, magazines, journals, books, dissertations and award-winning films and videos.
note: Contact the Library for login details
Research4Life Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Research for Life Portal brings to you journals and e-books published by some of the world's reputable publishers. The portal provides access to all subjects and disciplines such as Social Sciences, Law, Arts and Humanities, Medicine, Commerce and Physical Sciences.
note: Contact the Library for off-campus login details
ScienceOpen Some full text available
ScienceOpen is a discovery platform with interactive features for scholars to enhance their research in the open, make an impact, and receive credit for it. We provide context building services for publishers, to bring researchers closer to the content than ever before. Our advanced search and discovery functions, combined with post-publication peer review, recommendation, social sharing, and collection-building features make ScienceOpen the only research platform you’ll ever need.

E-Book Databases

Bookbon Some full text available
Multi-disciplinary electronic books.
Free Book Centre Some full text available
Contains links to thousands of free online technical books.
Google-books openURL
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across various disciplines, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Books helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
Intech Open Some full text available
InTech is a pioneer and world's largest multidisciplinary open access publisher of books covering the fields of Science, Technology and Medicine.
Open Access Publishing in European Networks Library Some full text available
OAPEN Library is a central repository for hosting and disseminating peer reviewed open access (OA) books. 
Areas covered include: Agricultural Economics, Agricultural Engineering, Agricultural science, Agriculture & Farming, Agronomy & Crop production, Business Management, Accounting, Marketing, Ecological science, Engineering, Mathematics, Earth sciences, Geography, Environment planning, Geology, Geophysics, Mining.
Open Research Library Some full text available
The Open Research Library (ORL) is planned to include all Open Access book content worldwide on one platform for user-friendly discovery, offering a seamless experience navigating more than 14,000 Open Access books. This vital infrastructure is slated to comprise the most comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed Open Access books accessible for everyone.
Open Textbook Library Some full text available
Transform higher education and student learning with Open textbooks which are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.
OpenStax Some full text available

Peer-reviewed, openly licensed, 100% free, and backed by additional learning resources. Review OpenStax textbooks and decide if they are right for your course. Simple to adopt, free to use. We make it easy to improve student access to higher education. Areas covered include Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Business Management, Entrepreneurship, Accounting, Economics


Project Guternburg Some full text available

Free e-book collection covering wide subject areas including Mathematics, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Botany, Ecology, Geology, Animal Science, Geography, Technology, Engineering, Agriculture, Plant Science.


ProQuest Ebook Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
ProQuest Ebook Central is the ultimate Ebook Platform providing breadth and depth of authoritative content, courtesy of GSU Library
note: On Campus Only
Textbooks & Solutions Some full text available

A multidisciplinary general-purpose open-access repository of textbooks covering Geomatics, Surveying, Environmental science, Geology, Minerals, Mining, Metallurgy, Agriculture, Plant & Crop science, Animal science, Ecology, Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Accounting & Finance, Marketing, Auditing & Taxation 


Z-Library Some full text available
A multidisciplinary general-purpose open-access repository.

Journals/Magazines

Academic Journals Some full text available
Academic Journals currently publishes 108 peer-reviewed open access journals covering art and humanities, engineering, medical science, social sciences, biological sciences, physical sciences and agricultural sciences.
Advances in Geosciences Some full text available
Advances in Geosciences (ADGEO) is a not-for-profit international interdisciplinary journal for fast publication of collections of short but self-contained communications in the Earth, planetary, and solar system sciences, published in separate volumes online with the option of printed publications (print on demand). The collections may include papers presented at scientific meetings (proceedings) or articles on a well-defined topic compiled by individual editors or organizations (special publications).
Africa Portal openURL
Africa Portal curates a comprehensive collection of research material. The entire repository is open access, equipped with a sophisticated search function and available for free, full-text download. The material covers Mining, Management, Mechanics, and Information Technology.
African Journals OnLine Some full text available

African Journals OnLine (AJOL) is the world`s largest online library of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals.  In partnership with hundreds of journals from all over the continent, AJOL works to change this, so that African-origin research output is available to Africans and to the rest of the world. You only have access to Open Access articles.


All Earth Some full text available
Formerly Geodinamica Acta, this open access journal publishes across Earth Science fields including multi-disciplinary studies and sound, reproducible research.
American Institute of Physics Some full text available

AIP Publishing’s portfolio includes prestigious titles such as Applied Physics Letters, Journal of Applied Physics and The Journal of Chemical Physics, and the AIP Conference Proceedings series.


APS Physics Restricted Resource Some full text available
The American Physical Society is one of nine publishers participating in a CrossRef pilot project that uses Google to provide full-text searching of scholarly research. This database contains physical science documents only.
Archives of Mining Sciences Some full text available
Archives of Mining Sciences (AMS) publish research results of wide interest in all fields of mining sciences which include: rock mechanics, mining engineering, mineral processing, geotechnical engineering and tunnelling, mining and engineering geology, mining geodesy and geophysics, ventilation systems, environmental protection in mining and economical aspects in mining.
arXiv Some full text available
Open access to 1,448,113 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Systems Science, and Economics.
Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics (ACP) Some full text available
Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics (ACP) is an international scientific journal dedicated to the publication and public discussion of high-quality studies investigating the Earth's atmosphere and the underlying chemical and physical processes. It covers the altitude range from the land and ocean surface up to the turbopause, including the troposphere, stratosphere, and mesosphere. The main subject areas comprise atmospheric modelling, field measurements, remote sensing, and laboratory studies of gases, aerosols, clouds and precipitation, isotopes, radiation, dynamics, biosphere interactions, and hydrosphere interactions. The journal scope is focused on studies with general implications for atmospheric science rather than investigations that are primarily of local or technical interest.
Biomedical Central Some full text available
BMC has an evolving portfolio of some 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine.
Chemistry Open Some full text available
ChemistryOpen is an interdisciplinary fully open access journal showcasing outstanding chemistry research from across the globe.
Cogent OA Some full text available
Cogent OA is a Taylor & Francis Group open access publisher of scholarly research and multidisciplinary series of broad-scope open access journals, helping researchers share their ideas and discoveries as widely and effectively as possible. 
CORE Some full text available

Offers seamless access to millions of open access research papers, enrich the collected data for text-mining and provide unique services to the research community. Covers the fields of Mining, Engineering, Mathematics, Physical sciences, and Information Technology.


European Geosciences Union Open Access Journals Some full text available

EGU, the European Geosciences Union, is Europe’s premier geosciences union, dedicated to the pursuit of excellence in the Earth, planetary, and space sciences for the benefit of humanity, worldwide.


Global Change Magazine Some full text available
Global Change Magazine publishes high quality research in the field of Environmental Science and Geography. By including articles that draw linkages between science, society and policy, the magazine aspires to serve as a source of information not only to scientists, but also to funding agencies, policymakers, journalists and the general public.
International Journal of Mining Science and Technology Some full text available
International Journal of Mining Science and Technology is an English-language journal. Previously entitled Journal of China University of Mining and Technology, it was founded in 1990 and publishes original and forefront research papers and high quality reviews covering recent advances in all fields of mining sciences and technologies.
International Journal of Rock Mechanics and Mining Sciences Restricted Resource Some full text available

This journal is concerned with original research, new developments, site measurements and case studies in rock mechanics and rock engineering. It provides an international forum for the publication of high quality papers on the subject of rock mechanics and the application of rock mechanics principles.


International Journal of Scientific & Technology Research Some full text available
International Journal of Scientific & Technology Research is an open access international journal from diverse fields in sciences, engineering and technologies Open Access that emphasizes new research, development and their applications.
Journal of Sustainable Mining Some full text available
Journal of Sustainable Mining is dedicated to the key problems of contemporary mining, for which activities related to sustainable development are a great and important challenge. The mission of this journal is to promote and spread knowledge not only concerning the idea of sustainable development in mining, but most of all, specialist knowledge derived from national and international research as well as technological solutions and methods, in which this vital idea is implemented.
MDPI Some full text available
MDPI currently publishes 202 journal titles and is continuously expanding its portfolio covering multiple disciplines. Publishing proposals, including transfer of existing journals, launch of new titles or conversion of subscription journals to Open Access.
Nonlinear Processes in Geophysics Some full text available
Nonlinear Processes in Geophysics (NPG) is an open access, international, interdisciplinary journal for the publication of original research furthering knowledge on nonlinear processes in all branches of Earth, planetary, and solar system sciences.
OMICS Group Some full text available
Make the best use of Researched information from 700+ peer reviewed, Open Access Journals operated by 50,000+ Editorial Board Members and esteemed reviewers and 1000+ Scientific associations in Biological sciences, Medical, Clinical, Pharmaceutical, Engineering, Technology and Management Fields.
Sciendo Some full text available
Sciendo provides multidisciplinary journals, books, conference proceedings and a variety of other publications for academics and professionals. They publish new content as well as back journal volumes and previously published books.
Scientific Research Some full text available
Scientific Research is an academic publisher of open access journals. It also publishes academic books and conference proceedings. SCIRP currently has more than 200 open access journals in the areas of science, technology and medicine.

Bibliographies

Directory of Open Access Books Some full text available
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
DOAJ aims to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals. 

Dissertations

EThOs: e-thesis online service Some full text available
EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses. It demonstrates the quality of UK research, and supports the UK Government’s open access principle that publications resulting from publicly-funded research should be made freely available for all researchers, providing opportunities for further research.
GSU Institutional Repository Some full text available
G-Space is an open access digital archive that collects, preserves, and distributes digital scholarly output produced, owned, and maintained by the Gwanda State University community. The repository consists of research articles, conference papers, theses and dissertations, and a variety of other digital assets.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations-OATD Some full text available
Open Access Theses and Dissertations offers advanced research and scholarship, aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world in all academic disciplines.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Restricted Resource Some full text available
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
note: Accessible through eLibraryUSA, Contact the Library for login details

Encyclopedias

CIA World Factbook openURL Resource contains images
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Encyclopedia.com Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
As the Internet's premier collection of online encyclopedias, Encyclopedia.com provides you reference entries from credible, published sources like Oxford University Press and Columbia Encyclopedia. At Encyclopedia.com, you get free access to over 300,000 reference entries from sources you can cite. Plus, more than 50,000 topic summaries feature related pictures, videos, topic summaries, and newspaper and magazine articles from around the world. Encyclopedia.com takes great care in constantly updating our content with the latest from our partners.

Handbooks & Guides

OpenSky Some full text available Resource contains images
OpenSky is the home for NCAR/UCAR research and historical materials as well as other collections of digital assets. The mission is to provide free and open access to the scientific output and other intellectual resources created at NCAR/UCAR for the advancement of the atmospheric and related sciences.

Statistics/Data

EMI Rock Mechanics Database openURL
Provided by Colorado school of mines database provides platform to provide information on various rock types.
GeologyNet database openURL
Provides access to 5 free online databases in mining and related fields. The databases include Rock Forming Database, Minerals Database, Economic Minerals Database, Petrographic Database and the XRD Database.
MatWeb
MatWeb's searchable database of material properties  includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Methembe Mhlophe

Methembe Mhlophe
Chief Library Assistant
Tel: 263-84-2824720 Ext251

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Book Search
Search for in
Academic Search Engines

BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 240 million documents from more than 8,000 content providers. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access).
 

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

Research Tools
GNU PSPP
GNU PSPP is a program for statistical analysis of sampled data. It is a free as in freedom replacement for the proprietary program SPSS, and appears very similar to it with a few exceptions.

jamovi
jamovi is a new “3rd generation” statistical spreadsheet. designed from the ground up to be easy to use, jamovi is a compelling alternative to costly statistical products such as SPSS and SAS.
Reference Management
Mendeley Reference Manager